SA Indoor

By February 11, 2016 No Comments

32The players to represent the South Africa women’s indoor hockey team that will take part in a Four Nations tournament in Toronto, Canada from December 3 to 7 have been named. SA women’s indoor coach Lennie Botha said Friday that the other teams taking part are Canada, Argentina and the USA. “We will play two warm-up games before the Four Nations, which is a round-robin format with playoffs that see one playing two and three playing four,” said Botha. “This is not necessarily the team that will represent South Africa at the Indoor World Cup next year, the Indoor World Cup side will be finalised soon after this team returns from Canada.”

The 2015 Indoor World Cup takes place in Leipzig, Germany from February 4 to February 8. Botha said the Four Nations in Canada was an exciting opportunity as never before has a South Africa national women’s indoor side had the opportunity to play in a series overseas in preparation for an Indoor World Cup. “We are very grateful to Spar for their support; if it wasn’t for their assistance this tour would not have been possible.”


Amy Greaves, Celia Evans, Cindy Hack (capt), Eloise Walters, Faye Cooper, Jessica O’Connor, Kara Stella, Kelly Madsen, Shelley Freyer, Taryn de Winnaar (vice-capt), Tracy Martens. Coach: Lennie Botha. Manager: Emma Bray.

Video analyst: TJ Smith.


ADDED: 30 October 2014